Europe : the day after

On the day after the European elections, what sort of state will we be in? Crushed under a national-populist landslide, or incredulous at having avoided the worst once more? The worst being: an unprecedented show of disinterest among European citizens for the elections; record abstention levels; an apathetic and indifferent renouncement; and, as a result, the formation of a coalition of reactionary, oppressive and xenophobic parties.


Since the start of the 2000s, the majority of elections have been last-minute salvage jobs, their results determined by strategic voting and alliances of convenience. But they have never resulted in a radical wake-up call, a turning point. they have never inspired us to transform the paradigm and bring social justice and environmental ethics back to the fore in our upside-down world. When they have not given rise to the autocratic, illiberal monsters that are now dotted around Europe, the overriding feeling triggered by those democratic scares has been one of business-as-usual, yet another turn of the screw against the interests of the people of Europe. 


This round of European elections has always been destined to fall between two stools: the worst, and avoiding the worst. But against a backdrop of such little hope, how can we look towards the future? How can we present Europe as a utopia for future generations? Those generations, made up of students and school children with an extraordinary sense of civic solidarity, are going on strike throughout the world to save the environment. Yet we have failed to transmit to them the ideal of Europe as the setting of a reinvented utopia – their utopia. Europe as a space of protection, of free movement, of regulation, of invention, of education, of solidarity, of culture, of debate. Europe as a multinational structure capable of dealing with the most urgent issues that this century has thrown at us, from the fight against corruption and terrorism to climate change.

Just 72 hours after the European elections, we will be joined in Lyon by a hundred or so artists, activists, thinkers and European project leaders to analyse this “day after” and to regroup for the future.

Taking place at H7 and Hôtel71 in the Confluence district of Lyon, with its own music stage, food court and programme of events curated along- side We Are Europe (the cooperation project made up of eight festival-forums around Europe), European Lab Camp is a free and multidisciplinary space for debate, music and sharing that is open to everyone.

Over the course of round-table debates, media broadcasts, workshops, exhibitions and performances, European Lab Camp will connect the forces for change who are intent on drawing up a blueprint for the shared future of our continent.

To make that future a reality, now more than ever we need to harness grassroots initiatives, new forms of activism and cooperation, and the power of fiction.

Rather than democratic challenges, it is the current state of environmental emergency that should be forcing us to seek new forms of action and to reconfigure our politics. The climate marches, shows of civil disobedience, boycotts and feminist protests of recent times have all proved that we the citizens can take destiny into our own hands and challenge the models that govern our lives. Notably in Italy and Greece, a veritable laboratory of alternative action is gradually developing around the values of self-determination, municipalism and horizontality.

Convinced that fiction can be used as a weapon of mass reconstruction, we are also inviting authors, artists, forward-thinkers and members of the public to free their imaginations, to put pen to paper and to share their stories: to invent possible futures. We will share experiences, invent fictions and partake in open debates, in order to escape those who would wish to manipulate opinions and sew chaos.

Come and join us!

Vincent Carry et Anne-Caroline Jambaud

Europe : le jour d’après

Au lendemain des élections européennes, dans quel état serons-nous ? Terrassés par la vague nationale-populiste ou juste incrédules d’avoir une fois encore évité le pire ? Le pire : un désintérêt plus fort que jamais des citoyens européens pour le scrutin et ses enjeux, une abstention record, un renoncement apathique et indifférent et au sortir des urnes, une coalition de partis réactionnaires, liberticides et xénophobes.


Depuis le début des années 2000, la plupart des échéances électorales se sont traduites par un sauvetage de dernière minute, à coups de votes utiles et d’alliances de circonstance. Mais elles n’ont jamais permis de prise de conscience radicale, de sursaut, ni d’embrayer sur un changement de paradigme qui remette justice sociale et éthique environnementale au cœur de ce monde qui marche sur la tête. Quand il n’a pas enfanté des monstres autocratiques ou illibéraux ici et là en Europe, chaque coup de chaud démocratique a été tempéré par le même business as usual, ou un nouveau tour de vis d’une extrême violence pour les peuples. 


D’ores et déjà, les élections européennes sont perdues entre ces deux écueils : le pire et l’évitement du pire. Comment se projeter dans un tel horizon ? Comment proposer l’Europe comme seule utopie pour les générations émergentes ? Ces générations à venir, celles des étudiants, lycéens et collégiens, qui marchent partout dans le monde pour le climat, avec un sens civique inouï, mais auxquelles nous n’avons pas su transmettre l’idéal européen comme juste cadre d’une utopie qu’il leur faudrait réinventer. Leur utopie. L’Europe comme espace de protection, de libre circulation, de régulation, d’invention, d’éducation, de solidarité, de culture, de débat. L’Europe comme échelle transnationale à même d’aborder les grands enjeux de ce siècle, de la lutte contre la corruption et les terrorismes au changement climatique.

72 heures après les élections européennes, nous donnons rendez-vous à Lyon à une centaine d’artistes, activistes, penseurs, porteurs de projets européens pour analyser ensemble ce « jour d’après » et se réarmer pour l’avenir. 

Déployé à Lyon Confluence, sur le site d’H7 et Hôtel71, et intégrant une scène de musique, un food-court, et les contenus liés à We are Europe (programme de coopération réunissant 8 festivals – forums européens), European Lab Camp devient un pôle gratuit et transversal de débats, de musique et de convivialité ouvert à tous. 

À travers tables-rondes, concerts, plateau média, workshops, exposition et performances, European Lab Camp connectera les forces qui veulent dessiner les contours d’un avenir commun au continent.

Pour se projeter dans le futur, nous misons plus que jamais sur les initiatives de terrain, les formes renouvelées d’activisme et de coopération et la puissance de la fiction.  

L’urgence climatique, plus encore que l’enjeu démocratique, impose de nouvelles modalités d’action et des reconfigurations du politique. Marches pour le climat, désobéissances civiles, appels au boycott ou actions féministes montrent que les citoyens peuvent reprendre en main leur destin et changer nos modèles d’existence. En Italie ou en Grèce notamment, se développe tout un laboratoire d’alternatives fondées sur l’autogestion, le municipalisme ou l’horizontalité. 

Convaincus que la fiction est une arme de reconstruction massive, nous invitons aussi auteurs, artistes, prospectivistes et public à débrider leur imagination, écrire et partager des récits, pour inventer des futurs possibles. Partager des expériences, imaginer des fictions, débattre à visage découvert pour échapper aux manipulateurs d’opinions et aux semeurs de chaos.

Rejoignez-nous !

Vincent Carry et Anne-Caroline Jambaud